Executive Team

Head - Mary Catherin Riker
Mary Cathryn Ricker, Commissioner
As Minnesota’s education commissioner, Mary Cathryn Ricker heads an agency of more than 450 employees, charged with the mission of improving educational achievement for children from PreK-12. Commissioner Ricker works closely with Governor Tim Walz to promote a wide variety of education policies and initiatives focused on closing the achievement gap, supporting high-quality teaching, using innovative strategies to improve educational outcomes, and ensuring all students graduate from high school well-prepared for college, career and life.

Mary Cathryn Ricker bio | Email Commissioner Ricker

Luchelle Stevens headshot
Luchelle Stevens, Chief of Staff
As Chief of Staff, Luchelle Stevens manages the daily operations of the agency, and oversees the agency’s budget and policy development, communications, government relations, state library services, charter schools, interagency initiatives, and information technology.

Luchelle Stevens bio | Email Luchelle Stevens

Daron Korte headshot
Daron Korte, Assistant Commissioner
Assistant Commissioner Daron Korte oversees the Divisions of Special Education; Compliance and Assistance; Rulemaking; and Health, Nutrition and Youth Development.

Daron Korte bio | Email Daron Korte

V - Dr. Heather Mueller photo
Dr. Heather Mueller, Assistant Commissioner

As Assistant Commissioner, Dr. Heather Mueller is responsible for providing leadership and oversight for the Office of Teaching and Learning, which includes the Divisions of Academic Standards and Instructional Effectiveness; Career and College Success; Early Learning Services; Equity and Opportunity; School Support; and Testing and Assessment.

Dr. Heather Mueller bio | Email Dr. Heather Mueller

Denise Anderson, CFO 4 exec page
Denise Anderson, Chief Financial Officer
As Chief Financial Officer, Denise is responsible for providing leadership and oversight of the financial, administrative, budgeting and risk management functions.

Denise Anderson bio | Email Denise Anderson