Multitype Library Systems

Seven multicounty, multitype library systems improve library services by facilitating cooperation among academic libraries, public libraries, school library media centers, and special libraries. Multicounty, multitype library systems may develop services including, but not limited to, resource sharing, joint programs, staff development, and community relations. Multicounty, multitype library systems also partner on statewide projects.

Multicounty, multitype library systems receive a biennial legislative appropriation that is disbursed on a formula allocation.  

Arrowhead Library System

Arrowhead Library System (ALS) serves Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods and St. Louis counties. ALS is a combined multicounty, multitype library and regional public library system. Its mission is to enhance the value of all types of libraries to their communities by cultivating collaboration, technological innovation, and professional development; and enriches the quality of life by providing direct services for those without a public library and access to electronic resources for all people in northeastern Minnesota.

Central Minnesota Libraries Exchange

Central Minnesota Libraries Exchange (CMLE) serves Aitkin, Benton, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, and Wright counties. CMLE’s mission is to serve as the Central Minnesota library hub, a clearinghouse of talent, materials and expertise for all types of libraries. CMLE leads, supports, encourages, engages, and connects library personnel with the resources they need.


Metronet serves Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties. Metronet’s mission is to serve libraries of all types in the metropolitan area by leveraging existing library strengths and resources to build capacity so as to achieve more collectively than could be attained independently.

Northern Lights Library Network

Northern Lights Library Network (NLLN) serves Becker, Beltrami, Cass, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Traverse, Wadena, and Wilkin counties. NLLN’s mission is to work at the grassroots level to bring together all types of libraries in the region to discover, enhance, and share resources through administrative, technological and educational support.

Prairielands Library Exchange

Prairielands Library Exchange (PLE) serves Big Stone, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Swift, and Yellow Medicine counties. PLE seeks to empower and partner with member libraries through sharing information, ideas, and resources; educating library member staff for traditional and emerging roles; advocating for all types of libraries; providing tools in support of members; and fostering lifelong library use.

Southeast Library System

Southeast Library System (SELS) serves Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona counties and is affiliated with the Southeastern Libraries Cooperating (SELCO) regional public library system. The SELS governing board members are the same as SELCO’s, yet it makes decisions independently and contracts with SELCO for the administration of all multicounty, multitype programs and services. SELS fosters collaboration, communication, training, and the sharing of resources among its members

Traverse des Sioux Library Cooperative

Traverse des Sioux Library Cooperative (TdS) serves Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan counties. TdS is a combined multicounty, multitype and regional public library system. TdS promotes cooperation, provides support services, and coordinates shared access to needed resources, programs, and technologies for member libraries.