Earn a General Education Development (GED) Diploma
GED testers in Minnesota can now get the first test in each subject free by entering the code MNGED30 when scheduling and paying for testing, while funding lasts. This promotional code can be used when scheduling tests to be taken between Monday, July 1 and December 31, 2019. This code applies to any eligible tester who marks they intend to test in Minnesota and schedules testing at an approved Minnesota or bordering testing center. If a student does not pass or does not show up for testing, they will not receive the subsidy for the retake tests; they will have to pay the standard retake test price. Once the subsidy expires or runs out, there will be no state subsidy left, and testers will have to pay the full testing fee ($30/first test in each subject or $120 per complete battery). We cannot predict exactly when this subsidy will run out; when it does, the subsidy will automatically shut off.
Register online at the GED website or contact your local Adult Basic Education (ABE) program to get started. Search for an ABE program near you by visiting the Minnesota Literacy Council website. Staff at each ABE program will be able to walk you through the registration process and provide resources and classes to prepare for taking the test.
In Minnesota, individuals who do not have a high school diploma may be able to earn a state of Minnesota GED® Diploma by passing the GED test. The four tests in the GED battery measure academic competencies similar to many of those required of a Minnesota high school graduate.
Once You Pass All the Tests
Once you pass all four tests in the GED, the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) will receive your information (including name and address) from the ged.com system and print you an official diploma and transcript, typically the next business day. The diploma and transcript will be mailed via U.S. Mail to your address that you have listed in ged.com. You should receive your diploma in about 4-8 business days after passing the fourth test.
Getting Additional Copies of GED Records
If you need additional copies of your GED records, please download and complete the GED Records Request form below. Please note that for official employment, college, other postsecondary or similar verification purposes, they typically need just the “Official Transcript.” All records are sent via U.S. mail; records cannot be faxed or emailed.
If you are 19 years old and are not currently enrolled in high school, you are eligible to take the GED® in Minnesota. If you are 17 or 18 years old and are not currently enrolled in high school, you must apply for an age waiver before testing. The waiver form and instructions are available below. In addition to the form, you will need to bring a valid, current government-issued photo ID to the testing site.
Note: 2017 State Legislation Changes
The 2017 Minnesota Legislature changed, in statute, the term GED with “approved high school equivalency test.” MDE is currently developing an approval process to evaluate the future of high school equivalency testing in Minnesota.
Warning Regarding Misleading GED® Claims
The state of Minnesota GED® Diploma cannot be earned or obtained on the internet or through correspondence programs. The Tests of General Educational Development developed by the GED Testing Service® often require extensive preparation in order to demonstrate the high level of high school knowledge and academic skills needed to pass. Tests are administered only at Pearson VUE® Testing Centers under the direction of Pearson VUE® and the GED Testing Service. Any other GED diploma or “high school equivalency certificate based solely on the GED” not issued by the Minnesota Department of Education may not be accepted by employers, colleges and universities or the military.
GED® and the GED Testing Service® are registered trademarks of the American Council on Education® and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the American Council on Education®.
Age Waiver Form and Instructions - 6/13/19
Form to request an age waiver for individuals taking the General Educational Development (GED) tests.
GED Records Request Form - 7/18/17
Complete this form and return to the Minnesota Department of Education to request official GED records.