Student Exam Fee Policy and Reimbursement Procedures
The Legislature has provided funding for payment of Advanced Placement (AP) exam fees for both fee-reduced (low-income) and non-fee-reduced students. To qualify for exam fee reimbursement for your students, each school must complete and submit the Advanced Placement Program Application for Reimbursement 2020-21 to MDE by April 30, 2021.
Fee-Reduced Exams (Category-One Students)
The College Board provides a $33 fee reduction per exam for students who qualify for financial need. For each AP Exam taken with a fee reduction, the school forgoes its $9 rebate, resulting in a cost of $53 per AP exam for the student (for AP Seminar or AP Research Exams $101). The school must first apply for a fee reduction from the College Board. The state will pay the difference the student would ordinarily pay after the $33 fee reduction from the College Board and $9 school rebate. View College Board AP Exam fee reductions.
Non-Fee-Reduced Exams (Category-Two Students)
To the extent available, the state shall pay examination fees for students sitting for an AP exam. This year the state will pay $35 for each non-fee-reduced exam (for AP Seminar or AP Research Exams $48). Any additional costs to students will be $51/$86 per exam (or $60/$95 if the school collects the $9 rebate from the College Board).
Timeline of Application Due Dates
Please note the deadlines listed below. Schools are responsible for adhering to all deadlines in order to receive reimbursement for qualifying student exams.
November 13, 2020
Complete the College Board AP Exam ordering form, indicating each student’s fee reduction status in AP Registration and Ordering. This replaced bubbling in students’ fee reduction status on their answer sheets.
To ensure accuracy of the final invoice AP coordinator must indicate “Reduced” in the AP Fee Status column of the student roster for each student who qualifies for a fee reduction. The AP coordinator should leave the AP Fee Status as the default “Standard” for students who do not qualify for the College Board fee reduction.
April 30, 2021
Deadline to make changes to students’ fee reduction status in AP Registration and Ordering.
Complete and submit the AP Program Application for Reimbursement 2020-21 to Minnesota Department of Education. Please email a scanned version of the application electronically to Jacqui McKenzie. If you prefer, mail completed application to Jacqui McKenzie, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113.
AP coordinators no longer need to generate the final invoice. The final AP exam invoice is generated by AP Registration and Ordering and emailed to the AP coordinator after the late-testing administration ends. Learn more about accessing your invoice.
June 25, 2021
Postmark deadline for any payment owed to College Board.
The state of Minnesota will reimburse the district or school after schools have paid the College Board directly and submitted a copy of their invoice to the Minnesota Department of Education.
To receive reimbursement of exams, AP coordinators must submit their AP Exam Invoice: State Copy to the Minnesota Department of Education. Email a PDF copy of your school’s invoice by June 25, 2021 to Jacqui McKenzie or by mail to: Jacqui McKenzie, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113.