Early Childhood Indicators of Progress: Minnesota's Early Learning Standards

The early childhood years are an important time of rapid growth and learning. Children’s brains are developing more quickly at this time than at any other. They are exploring what they can do with their bodies and creating relationships with loved ones. They are investigating how the world works and their place in the world. Because of this complex and rapid development in young children, a shared set of expectations of what children can know and do is necessary to build successful early childhood programs and supports.

In Minnesota, this set of shared expectations is called the Early Childhood Indicators of Progress: Minnesota’s Early Learning Standards (ECIPs). The ECIPs, which are aligned with the K-12 Academic Standards, ensure equitable access to a robust education across programs for all children.

The areas of learning or domains included in the ECIPs are:
  • physical and movement development
  • language
  • literacy and communications
  • mathematics
  • science
  • social systems
  • approaches to learning
  • the arts
  • social and emotional development.

School-based programs are required to use the ECIPs for planning curriculum, instruction and assessment; MDE supports local educational agencies (LEAs) in the use of the ECIPs.

Early Childhood Indicators of Progress: Minnesota's Early Learning Standards for Birth to Kindergarten
V - Early Learning Student Raises Her Hand
Early Childhood Standards Help Teachers and Caregivers Design Learning Experiences

Related offsite resources: