Online Learning Providers

Online Learning Provider Approval Process
State law (Minn. Stat. § 124D.095) requires the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) to “review and approve” schools that deliver online instruction to students from outside their district, or who are delivering full-time online instruction to their own students. These schools are required to become an approved OLL provider. Only MDE-approved OLL providers generate funding.

Approved Program Criteria
The process for becoming an approved provider is initiated by the Minnesota public school provider (public school districts, intermediate districts, school districts operating under a Joint Powers of Agreement (JPA)), and charter schools that provide online learning.

Initial OLL Provider Application Process
Minnesota public school providers seeking state-approved online learning program status are strongly encouraged to send a Letter of Intent to us at least 12 months prior to the anticipated program start date. This will allow sufficient time to plan and time for us to provide support and technical assistance through the application process. Upon receipt of the completed Online Learning Program application, we have 90-days for review. At the end of that time, a recommendation to approve or not approve will be made.

Online Programs Not Needing Approval
Schools that offer online courses only to resident students on a part-time basis (for example during a study hall) are not required to seek approval. However, we encourage all school administrators to consider applying for approval so you have the flexibility to expand your program at any time.