Early Childhood Screening

The early childhood years from birth to the start of kindergarten are an important time of rapid learning and growth.
Screening is a brief, simple procedure used to identify potential health or developmental problems in infants and young children who may need a health assessment, diagnostic assessment or educational evaluation. Screening in early childhood supports children's readiness for kindergarten and promotes health and development. Screening includes vision and hearing, height and weight, immunization review, large and small muscles, thinking, language and communication skills, as well as social and emotional development.

Early Childhood Screening or evidence of a comparable screening by a non-school provider, such as Head Start, Child and Teen Checkups/Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) or your health care provider, is required for entrance in Minnesota’s public schools or within 30 days of enrollment into kindergarten. The screening requirement within the first 90 days of attendance (if not done previously) for the following early learning programs: School Readiness, school readiness plus, voluntary prekindergarten and early learning scholarships. Early Childhood Screening is offered throughout the year by local school districts. Please call your local school district to schedule a screening for your child.

If a parent is a conscientious objector to the screening program for their child, the child does not need to participate in the state screening program. Read Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.16-19 and Minnesota Rules, part 3530.3000-4310 for more information.

View the Early Childhood Screening Parent Video. You can find a copy of the video with audio descriptors here.

Find A Local Program

Search MDE.ORG for your local school district early childhood screening program.

To determine which school district you live in, please search poll finder.

How Do I Schedule a Screening?
Local school districts provide Early Childhood Screening throughout the year. When your child turns three, you may contact your school district for more information and to schedule a screening for your child.   

Parent Brochure
Below is a parent brochure describing the Early Childhood Screening program.