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Reporting of Early Childhood Health and Developmental Screening 

Data Elements: District Number Status Start Date 
 District Type Status End Date 
 School Number Student Grade Level 
 State Aid Category Resident District Number 
 Status End Resident District Type 

Procedure 

A school district must assign a State Student Identification Number (SSID), if one has not already been assigned, 
and report a Minnesota Automated Reporting Student System (MARSS) student enrollment record. Grade Level 
equals Preschool Screening (PS) for a child or kindergarten student at the time of early childhood health and 
developmental screening by the district, or at the time the child/student's parent or legal guardian provides 
health records to the district documenting a comparable screening by another provider. A school district or 
charter school enrolling a first-year kindergarten student must solicit the student’s SSID from the district that 
provided the screening. (Refer to Minn. Stat. §§ 121A.17-121A.19.) 

Overview 

Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.17, requires every school board to provide for a mandatory program of 
screening for children at least once before school entrance, targeting children who are between the ages of 3 
and 4 years old. A child does not need to be a resident of the district that provides the screening. Statutes also 
require that a child must not be enrolled in kindergarten in a public school without proof of having been 
screened. MARSS grade PS student records are the basis for documenting that a child has met the screening 
requirement and for calculating districts' annual screening state aid entitlements. MARSS grade PS student 
records are not counted in average daily membership (ADM). 

Required Data for MARSS Screening Records 

All data required for reporting MARSS student records for screening must be collected by the district's screening 
program using the Registration Form for Early Childhood Screening which can be found from the Minnesota 
Department of Education (MDE) homepage: Districts, Schools and Educators > Teaching and Learning > Early 
Learning > Early Childhood Screening. The registration form must be dated and signed by the child's parent or 
legal guardian and accompanied by a signed release before it is forwarded to the district's MARSS coordinator. 
An SSID must be assigned (unless previously assigned), and a MARSS screening student record must be reported 
using the data on the signed registration form for: 

• A child from age 3-years-old through kindergarten entrance (up to 6-years-old) who receives a complete 
screening by the district prior to kindergarten enrollment. (Children may be screened "at least once" 
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before kindergarten, so they may have more than one grade PS student record preceding kindergarten 
enrollment.) 

• A kindergarten student who has not previously been screened (does not have a pre-existing MARSS 
grade PS student record), who receives a complete screening by the district after kindergarten 
enrollment. 

• A child or kindergarten student without a pre-existing MARSS grade PS record for whom the district 
receives a health record documenting a comparable health and developmental screening by a Head 
Start program, public health agency or private health care provider, including the month and year the 
child received screening and the screening results. 

• A child or kindergarten student whose parent or legal guardian submits a signed statement indicating 
the child has not been screened because of conscientiously held beliefs of the parent/guardian. 

When the child is screened by the district, whether before or after kindergarten entrance, the reporting district 
number and district type are the number and type of the independent, special, cooperative or intermediate 
school district that provides the screening. (An exception to this procedure may apply in limited cases; see 
Screening Provided by an Intermediate or Cooperative District, below.) A charter school may elect to provide 
screening; (see Screening by Charter Schools, below.) When a child's parent/legal guardian submits health 
records documenting a comparable health and developmental screening, or submits a signed statement of 
refusal because of conscientiously held beliefs, the number and type of the district receiving the health 
records/statement is the reporting district number and district type. 

Resident District Number and Resident District Type are the district number and district type of the independent 
or special school district in which the child's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) resides. As a child is not required to be 
a resident of the school district that provides the screening, the student resident district number and type may 
be different from the reporting district number and type. 

The State Aid Category (SAC) must be assigned from one of the following codes; only grade PS student records 
with a SAC of 41 generate state aid. 

41 – Screening by School District. Children/students who are screened by the reporting district. 

42 – Child and Teen Checkups/Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT). 
Children/students who have been screened through Child and Teen Checkups. 

43 – Head Start. Children/students who have been screened through a Head Start program. 

44 – Private Provider. Children/students who have been screened through a private provider, such as a 
family doctor. 

45 – Conscientious Objector. Parent/guardian has signed a statement that they are a conscientious objector 
of the screening process. 

The Status End code must be one of the following codes reserved for grade PS records: 

60 – No referral made. 

61 – Referral to special education. 
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62 – Referral to health care provider. 

63 – Referral to special education and health care provider. 

64 – Referral to early childhood programs (e.g., School Readiness, Head Start, Early Childhood Family 
Education (ECFE), family literacy). 

65 – PS student referral made, but parents refused services. 

66 – PS student rescreen planned. 

The Status Start Date for the student record of a child/student is the date the screening was performed, as 
documented on the Registration Form for Early Childhood Screening. When the district receives health records 
documenting a comparable screening by another provider, the Status Start Date is also the date of screening 
unless the screening date documented on the health records occurs in an earlier fiscal year. If the screening 
occurs in a fiscal year for which the final deadline for submitting MARSS end-of-year student records has 
expired, the Status Start Date is the date of receipt of the documentation indicating a comparable screening. 
When a parent/guardian refuses screening because of conscientiously held beliefs, the Status Start Date is the 
date of receipt of a signed statement of the parent/guardian's refusal. 

The Status End Date for grade PS student records is the same date as the Status Start Date. If the district's 
student software does not permit the Status Start Date and Status End Date fields to have the same value, then 
the Status End Date must be the next valid school day. 

All MARSS early childhood screening records are assigned a Student Grade Level of PS. A student may not have 
both a PS record and a student record with grade level greater than K-Kindergarten; if this occurs, the PS student 
record will not pass the MARSS statewide edit. A child/student with a grade level PS student record may have an 
overlapping student record with a grade level of EC, PK, HK or K; however, the statewide edit will not allow 
these overlaps if the records have the same start date in the same school. When this occurs, the MARSS 
statewide edit will allow only the PS record to pass. 

It is recommended that districts use School Number 005 to exclusively report all PS student records. School 
Number 005 has been approved for all districts; authorization is not required to add it to the district's school file. 
The MARSS statewide edit will not allow the same student to have both a PS record and a KG record with the 
same Status Start Date in the same school. When this occurs, the edit will allow only the PS record to pass. By 
using School Number 005 to report its PS student records, a district can avoid this error. 

Summary of MARSS Statewide Edits and Screening Aid Calculation Program 
Edits 

Enrollment dates can be from July 1 through June 30 of the fiscal year. 

If the child’s age at the time of screening (Status Start Date) is less than 3-years-old or greater than 6-years-old, 
the PS record will not pass the MARSS statewide edit. 
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A student may not have both a Grade Level PS student record and a student record with Grade Level greater 
than kindergarten in the same school year. 

A child/student with a student record having a Grade Level of PS may have an overlapping student record with a 
Grade Level of EC, PK, HK or K. However, the MARSS Web Edit System (WES) statewide edit will not allow the 
same student to have an overlapping student record with the same Status Start Date in the same school; when 
this occurs, the edit will allow only the PS record to pass.  

A child/student may have two PS records having SACs of 41 (screened by school district) and 45 (conscientious 
objector) only when the records are reported by different districts. A local error is created when a district 
reports PS records having SACs of 41 and 45 for the same child/student. 

Screening Data and Forms are Private Data and Part of Student's 
Permanent Educational Record 

Screening data is classified as private data under Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.18: “Data…collected in 
screening programs…is private, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12… No data on an individual shall be 
disclosed to the district without the consent of that individual’s parent or guardian.” Minnesota Rules, chapter 
3530.3700, also states that “Data on individual children is private as defined by state statutes and shall not be 
disclosed to a third party, including the district, without the informed consent of the parent.” 

Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.17, subdivision 7, requires school districts to keep a record of each child 
screened; the information shall be incorporated into the school district record (Minnesota Rules, chapter 
3530.3800), in the student's cumulative record or the pupil health record which is a part of the cumulative file. 
Because screening is required for public school enrollment, and because an SSID is assigned at the time of 
screening, all of the information collected and forms completed at the time of screening — the screening 
summary, registration form, consent to screen, and consent to release forms — are considered the start of the 
child’s permanent educational record. 

Screening Provided by an Intermediate or Cooperative District 

When a district contracts with an intermediate (District Type 06) or cooperative district (District Types 50-53, 61, 
62 or 82) to provide its early childhood screening program, the intermediate or cooperative district is the 
primary provider and is the reporting district for MARSS PS student records for every child/student screened. 
However, state screening aid is paid to the child's resident district as reported on the MARSS PS student record, 
not to the intermediate or cooperative district. 

An exception to this procedure may be made only when an intermediate or cooperative district screens a child 
who is not a resident of a school district that has contracted with the intermediate/cooperative to provide its 
screening program. In this case, the contracting school district that hosts the site where the child is screened 
may be reported as the reporting district instead of the intermediate/cooperative. This exception is permitted to 
allow state screening aid for the MARSS PS student record to be paid to the reporting district, which has 
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contracted with the intermediate/cooperative to provide the screening, instead of to the child/student's 
resident district, which has no relationship with the intermediate/cooperative. 

Screening Provided Under Contract with Public Health or other Non-School 
Agency 

When a school district contracts with and pays a non-school district screening provider such as a local public 
health agency or private health care provider to meet the district’s requirement to provide screening, the school 
district—not the subcontractor—remains responsible for reporting the MARSS records and assigning SSIDs for 
children who are screened through the district's screening program. 

A child need not be a resident of the screening school district to be screened by the district’s program and 
reported on MARSS. The screening district reports a MARSS PS student record with a SAC of 41 – Screened by 
District, for all children screened through its screening program by the contractor, except for a child/student 
who is eligible for medical assistance and screened by the contractor under the Child and Teen Checkups/Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) program. 

Child and Teen Checkups/EPSDT is a separate publicly funded federal program whose requirements exceed 
those screened under Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.17. MARSS PS student records of children who are 
screened under Child and Teen Checkups/EPSDT are reported with a SAC 42; these PS student records do not 
generate state aid. 

Screening Residents of Other States, Countries 

A district may screen and report Grade Level PS student records with a SAC 41 for children who are residents of 
other states or countries (Resident District Number-Type 9998-98). However, a district may not receive state aid 
for screening these children; the MARSS statewide edit will exclude all PS student records having a Resident 
District Number-Type of 9998-98 and SAC 41 from the screening state aid calculation. 

Minnesota school districts on the Minnesota-South Dakota border may receive screening aid for screening 
kindergarten students who are South Dakota residents and eligible to enroll in the Minnesota public school 
under reciprocity (Resident District Type 38). Screening aid is paid only when the student is screened within 30 
calendar days after enrolling in a Minnesota public school kindergarten through the Minnesota-South Dakota 
interstate tuition reciprocity agreement (Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.041). Grade PS student records with 
Resident District Type 38 and SAC 41 that have an overlapping K or HK student record in the same reporting 
district will be included in the screening aid calculation, if the PS record passes all other MARSS statewide edits. 

Note: When a child under age 7, moves from another state or country and establishes residency in Minnesota, 
he/she is required to present documentation of a comparable health and developmental screening or receive 
screening by the district within 30 calendar days of enrolling in a Minnesota public school district kindergarten. 
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Screening by Charter Schools 

Minnesota Statutes do not require a charter school to provide screening; nor do statutes require a child to be 
screened prior to or within 30 days of enrolling in a public charter school. However, if the charter school elects 
to provide a screening program according to Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.16 to section 121A.19, then the 
charter school must comply with these statutes' requirements, which also include assignment of an SSID and 
reporting of a MARSS student record when a child/student is screened, as if it were a school district. A charter 
school must become officially recognized to provide early childhood screening through MDE before commencing 
a screening program. 

Early Childhood Screening and Aid Entitlement Report 

All MARSS PS student records in a district’s end-of-year student record data submission that pass statewide edit 
are summarized by SAC on the Early Childhood Screening and Aid Calculation Report (Screening Aid Report). The 
Screening Aid Report is posted on the MDE website (http://education.mn.gov). Select Data Center > Data 
Reports and Analytics. Scroll down to School Finance Reports; click on Minnesota Funding Reports (MFR); select 
District Category: Aid Entitlement Reports; select the desired Year (for example, select 18-19 for Fiscal Year (FY) 
2019); Report: Early Childhood Screening Counts and Aid Entitlement; click List Reports; under Report Name, 
click on the report name you want to print. 

The Early Childhood Screening and Aid Entitlement Calculation Report is first posted in April and updated 
monthly after each MARSS end-of-year student data submission. Screening aid entitlements reported on the 
Integrated Department of Education Aid System (IDEAS) are first updated from estimated amounts to the 
entitlement amounts reported on the Screening Aid Report after the final MARSS end-of-year data submission. 

Further information on MARSS and Early Childhood Health and Developmental Screening can be found on MDE 
website > Districts, Schools and Educators > Teaching and Learning > Early Learning > Early Childhood Screening. 

Early Childhood Screening Look Up 

Districts can use the MARSS WES statewide reports to look up children to verify if they have been screened 
previously in the district or screened at another district. The statewide reports are available to MARSS 
coordinators after each statewide edit. The report will only pull the completed screenings one year at a time, 
the reports can be run for prior year’s data one year at a time. The MARSS coordinator may run the report 
routinely to see if any new enrolling students in the district have been previously screened elsewhere. This way, 
screening duplication can be avoided. 

MARSS52_PreSchoolScreening – Early Childhood Children: Screened in District 
MARSS52_PreSchoolScreening – Early Childhood Children: Residents Screened Elsewhere. 
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